Grayton Winds

ISBN-13: 9780979467028
Published: Sept, 15, 2011
Publisher: Sage River Press
Publisher: 382

In this classic historical fiction love story and family saga, Mathew Coulter seeks refuge in a remote Florida beach town to escape his ruthless family who control the liquor trade in 1920′s Atlanta. He meets a ten year-old blind girl, Melanee Dalton, who will lead him on a journey that may be the final salvation for her wayward mother, and Mathew’s own haunted soul.

In Grayton Winds, when a woman from his past makes a surprising return during his 85th birthday party in the idyllic village of Grayton Beach, Florida, Mathew Coulter reflects back on his early years, the heartbreak of lost loves, bitter memories of family betrayal, and a blind and gifted young girl who will change the course of his life forever.






On Past Horton Creek

ISBN-13: 9780979467011
Published: January, 1, 2008
Publisher: Sage River Press
Publisher: 315

In this sequel to the classic story of “The Seasons of the EmmaLee”, Michael Lindley revisits the idyllic resort community of Charlevoix, Michigan. “On Past Horton Creek” continues the saga of the McKendry’s, the Compton’s and George Hansen, now in the 1950′s, as well as the love affair of Alex Clark and Sally Thomason and the magnificent cruising yacht, the EmmaLee, in present day. “On Past Horton Creek” is the tale of two parallel stories, bridging time and a vast cultural divide. In the early 1950′s, a scandalous assault late one night in the dunes along the beach sets off a series of events that pits lawyer George Hansen, defending a local Native American boy, against the elite summer residents of Charlevoix. At the same time, Jonathan McKendry, now married to physician Emily Compton McKendry, finds himself desperately struggling to save his wife and a young family from a wretched and murderous father. In the modern day story, George Hansen looks down from his passing into the next world to see the events that develop in the search for his killer, as well as the challenges faced by the Clark family as Alex Clark tries to save his business empire and his marriage; and daughter Megan lets her infatuation for a young local boy alienate the summer families that she thought were her friends. Connor Harris also returns to create new problems with plans to develop an unpopular and ecologically unfriendly real estate development on the lake.








The Seasons of the Emmalee

ISBN-13: 9780979467004
Published: May, 5, 2011
Publisher: Sage River Press
Publisher: 308

Emily Compton, a young woman from a privileged summer family, finds herself in a tragic relationship with a young local boy, Jonathan McKendry. Their story is one of unexpected love, betrayal, murder, and redemption, bringing their two cultures crashing together while creating an even greater divide.





Recent Posts

  • Those early weeks…

    Those early weeks… weeks of excitement, anticipation, anxiety. Those weeks following the release of your next book when you wait for the early affirmation that your story has connected with readers, that it will be accepted and supported by the book stores, and that it will have life beyond the early flurry.…


  • Finally, the launch of a third novel,”Grayton Winds” in December 2011.

    After three years, five storyline changes, four reader critiques and sixteen edits, “Grayton Winds” is now on bookstore shelves, book retailer website pages and in reader’s hands.

    A departure from my previous two books set in Northern Michigan, “Grayton Winds” moves to Paris in the years following WWI, to Atlanta, Georgia, New York City and a small beach village on the northern Gulf Coast of Florida in the Prohibition years of the 1920’s.…


  • Taking the eBook Plunge

    My first novel, The Seasons of the EmmaLee, has been in the bookstores since 2005. I’ve been keeping a close eye on the changes in the publishing industry these past years, as most writers have. There is no denying that there is a dramatic transformation underway in how readers find the stories they want to read.…